The National Basketball Association’s Coach of the Year is an annual NBA award given since the 1962-63 season.

The winner receives the Red Auerbach Trophy, which is named in honor of the head coach who led the Boston Celtics to nine NBA Championships from 1956 to 1966. The winner is selected at the end of regular season by a panel of sportswriters from the United States and Canada, each of whom casts a vote for first, second and third place selections. Each first-place vote is worth five points; each second-place vote is worth three points; and each third-place vote is worth one point.

The person with the highest point total, regardless of the number of first-place votes, wins the award.


2022-23: Mike Brown, Sacramento Kings

2021-22: Monty Williams, Phoenix Suns

2020-21: Tom Thibodeau, New York Knicks

2019-20: Nick Nurse, Toronto Raptors

2018-19: Mike Budenholzer, Milwaukee Bucks

2017-18: Dwane Casey, Toronto Raptors

2016-17: Mike D’Antoni, Houston Rockets

2015-16: Steve Kerr, Golden State Warriors

2014-15: Mike Budenholzer, Atlanta Hawks

2013-14: Gregg Popovich, San Antonio Spurs

2012-13: George Karl, Denver Nuggets

2011-12: Gregg Popovich, San Antonio Spurs

2010-11: Tom Thibodeau, Chicago Bulls

2009-10: Scott Brooks, Oklahoma City Thunder

2008-09: Mike Brown, Cleveland Cavaliers

2007-08: Byron Scott, New Orleans Hornets

2006-07: Sam Mitchell, Toronto Raptors

2005-06: Avery Johnson, Dallas Mavericks

2004-05: Mike D’Antoni, Phoenix Suns

2003-04: Hubie Brown, Memphis Grizzlies

2002-03: Gregg Popovich, San Antonio Spurs

2001-02: Rick Carlisle, Detroit Pistons

2000-01: Larry Brown, Philadelphia 76ers

1999-00: Doc Rivers, Orlando Magic

1998-99: Mike Dunleavy, Portland Trail Blazers

1997-98: Larry Bird, Indiana Pacers

1996-97: Pat Riley, Miami Heat

1995-96: Phil Jackson, Chicago Bulls

1994-95: Del Harris, Los Angeles Lakers

1993-94: Lenny Wilkens, Atlanta Hawks

1992-93: Pat Riley, New York Knicks

1991-92: Don Nelson, Golden State Warriors

1990-91: Don Chaney, Houston Rockets

1989-90: Pat Riley, Los Angeles Lakers

1988-89: Cotton Fitzsimmons, Phoenix Suns

1987-88: Doug Moe, Denver Nuggets

1986-87: Mike Schuler, Portland Trail Blazers

1985-86: Mike Fratello, Atlanta Hawks

1984-85: Don Nelson, Milwaukee Bucks

1983-84: Frank Layden, Utah Jazz

1982-83: Don Nelson, Milwaukee Bucks

1981-82: Gene Shue, Washington Bullets

1980-81: Jack McKinney, Indiana Pacers

1979-80: Bill Fitch, Boston Celtics

1978-79: Cotton Fitzsimmons, Kansas City Kings

1977-78: Hubie Brown, Atlanta Hawks

1976-77: Tom Nissalke, Houston Rockets

1975-76: Bill Fitch, Cleveland Cavaliers

1974-75: Phil Johnson, Kansas City-Omaha Kings

1973-74: Ray Scott, Detroit Pistons

1972-73: Tom Heinsohn, Boston Celtics

1971-72: Bill Sharman, Los Angeles Lakers

1970-71: Dick Motta, Chicago Bulls

1969-70: Red Holzman, New York Nicks

1968-69: Gene Shue, Baltimore Bullets

1967-68: Richie Guerin, St. Louis Hawks

1966-67: Johnny Kerr, Chicago Bulls

1965-66: Dolph Schayes, Philadelphia 76ers

1964-65: Red Auerbach, Boston Celtics

1963-64: Alex Hannum, San Francisco Warriors

1962-63: Harry Gallatin, St. Louis Hawks