Steve Kerr is the Head Coach of the Golden State Warriors. On May 19, 2014, Kerr became the 25th Head Coach* in Warriors history.

In Coach Kerr’s first five seasons, he led the Golden State Warriors to five consecutive NBA Finals appearances. In Kerr’s first season, he led the Warriors organization to its first NBA Championship since 1975 and in the 2015-2016 NBA Season, Coach Kerr led the Warriors to an all-time NBA best regular season record of 73-9, at the time, passing the 1995-1996 Chicago Bulls’ record. For these efforts, Coach Kerr received the NBA Coach of the Year Award (2016), becoming the third Coach to win this Award in franchise history. Coach Kerr also led the Golden State Warriors to two consecutive NBA Finals Championships (2017 & 2018). During the 2017 NBA Playoffs, Kerr led the Warriors to a 16-1 record. In Kerr’s first three years as Head Coach, the Warriors became the first team in NBA history to have three consecutive seasons with at least 65 regular season wins. After his playing career and prior to coaching, Kerr was a broadcast analyst for the television network, TNT. In 2004, Kerr joined the Phoenix Suns management and was the General Manager of the Suns in 2007.

Steve Kerr was born on September 27, 1965, in Beirut, Lebanon. He attended Palisades Charter High School in Los Angeles, California and went to the University of Arizona from 1983-1988. In 1988, Kerr helped the Wildcats reach the Final Four in the NCAA tournament and set an NCAA 3-point percentage record (57%). Kerr was selected by the Phoenix Suns in the 2nd round of the 1988 NBA Draft. He played 15 seasons in the NBA (Suns, Cavaliers, Magic, Bulls, Spurs, & Trail Blazers). Most notably, in 1993, Kerr signed with the Chicago Bulls and helped the organization win three consecutive NBA Finals. In 1999, Kerr signed with the San Antonio Spurs and went on to win two NBA Finals with the team. Coach Kerr and his wife, Margot, have three children (Nick, Maddy, & Matthew).

*Inclusive of Full-Time and Interim Head Coaches


Ron Adams

Kenny Atkinson

Seth Cooper

Chris DeMarco

Bruce Fraser

Kris Weems